GX4CrNi13-4 (EN 1.4317) Martensitic Stainless Steel Casting Material
Martensitic Stainless Steel
Introduction
GX4CrNi13-4 is a martensitic stainless steel grade specified in EN 10283 for corrosion-resistant cast components. Casting process options include Investment Casting, Shell Molding Casting and Sand Casting, subject to the applicable specification and component requirements.
| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Designation | GX4CrNi13-4 (EN 1.4317) |
| Material Type | Stainless Steel |
| Sub Type | Martensitic Stainless Steel |
| Product Form | casting |
Manufacturing Process
Investment Casting
Shell Molding Casting
Sand Casting
Equivalent Grades
Similar Materials
N/A
Reference Standards
| Standard | Standard Title | Edition | Specification | Identifier |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EN 10213 | Steel castings for pressure purposes | 2007+A1:2016 | GX4CrNi13-4 | EN 1.4317 |
| EN 10283 | Corrosion resistant steel castings | 2019 | GX4CrNi13-4 | EN 1.4317 |
| EN 10293 | Steel castings — Steel castings for general engineering uses | 2015 | GX4CrNi13-4 | EN 1.4317 |
| EN 10340 | Steel castings for structural uses | 2007 | GX4CrNi13-4 | EN 1.4317 |
| ISO 11972 | Corrosion-resistant cast steels for general applications | 2023 | GX4CrNi13-4 | EN 1.4317 |
Related Casting Products
Physical Properties
EN 10213–2007+A1:2016
| Property | Value | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Density | 7.7 kg/dm³ | Test at 20 °C |
| Thermal Expansion | 10.5 ×10⁻⁶/K | Temperature range: 20–100 °C |
| Thermal Expansion | 11 ×10⁻⁶/K | Temperature range: 20–300 °C |
| Thermal Expansion | 12 ×10⁻⁶/K | Temperature range: 20–500 °C |
| Thermal Conductivity | 26 W/(m·K) | Test at 50 °C |
| Thermal Conductivity | 27 W/(m·K) | Test at 100 °C |
| Specific Heat | 460 J/(kg·K) | Test at 20 °C |
| Magnetic Property | Magnetic |
EN 10283–2019
| Property | Value | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Density | 7.7 kg/dm³ | Test at 20 °C |
| Specific Heat | 460 J/(kg·K) | Test at 20 °C |
| Thermal Conductivity | 26 W/(m·K) | Test at 50 °C |
| Thermal Conductivity | 27 W/(m·K) | Test at 100 °C |
| Thermal Expansion | 10.5 ×10⁻⁶/K | Temperature range: 20–100 °C |
| Thermal Expansion | 11 ×10⁻⁶/K | Temperature range: 20–300 °C |
| Thermal Expansion | 12 ×10⁻⁶/K | Temperature range: 20–500 °C |
Chemical Composition
| Element | EN 10213Edition 2007+A1:2016 · wt.%Cast analysis | EN 10283Edition 2019 · wt.%Cast analysis | EN 10293Edition 2015 · wt.%Cast analysis | EN 10340Edition 2007 · wt.%Cast analysis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.06 | ≤ 0.06 | ≤ 0.06 | ≤ 0.06 |
| Si | ≤ 1.00 | ≤ 1.00 | ≤ 1.00 | ≤ 1.00 |
| Mn | ≤ 1.00 | ≤ 1.00 | ≤ 1.00 | ≤ 1.00 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 | ≤ 0.035 | ≤ 0.035 | ≤ 0.035 |
| S | ≤ 0.025 | ≤ 0.025 | ≤ 0.025 | ≤ 0.015 |
| Cr | 12.00–13.50 | 12.00–13.50 | 12.00–13.50 | 12.00–13.50 |
| Ni | 3.50–5.00 | 3.50–5.50 | 3.50–5.00 | 3.50–5.00 |
| Mo | ≤ 0.70 | ≤ 0.70 | ≤ 0.70 | ≤ 0.70 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.30 | ≤ 0.30[1] | ≤ 0.30[2] | ≤ 0.30 |
| N | — / Not specified | — / Not specified | — / Not specified | ≤ 0.08 |
| V | ≤ 0.08 | ≤ 0.08[1] | ≤ 0.08[2] | — / Not specified |
Notes
EN 10283 · Edition 2019
[1] Cu/V: Applies unless otherwise agreed; unspecified elements shall not be intentionally added without purchaser agreement except for finishing the heat.
EN 10293 · Edition 2015
[2] Cu/V: Applies only where unspecified in unless otherwise agreed; no intentional addition except for finishing the heat.
Heat Treatment
EN 10213–2007+A1:2016 · +QT
EN 10283–2019 · +QT1
| Step | Operation | Temperature | Cooling |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | quenching | 1000–1050 °C | air or liquid |
| 2 | tempering | 590–620 °C | — |
EN 10283–2019 · +QT2
| Step | Operation | Temperature | Cooling |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | quenching | 1000–1050 °C | air or liquid |
| 2 | tempering | 500–530 °C | — |
EN 10283–2019 · +QT3
| Step | Operation | Temperature | Cooling |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | quenching | 1000–1050 °C | air or liquid |
| 2 | tempering | 660–680 °C | — |
| 3 | tempering | 560–620 °C | — |
EN 10293–2015 · +QT
| Step | Operation | Temperature | Cooling |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | : quenching | 1000–1050 °C | air |
| 2 | : tempering | 590–620 °C | — |
EN 10340–2007 · +QT
| Step | Operation | Temperature |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | : quenching | 1000–1050 °C |
| 2 | : tempering | 590–620 °C |
ISO 11972–2023 · QT1
| Step | Operation | Temperature | Cooling |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | austenitizing | 1000–1050 °C | air cool |
| 2 | tempering | 570–620 °C | air or furnace cool |
ISO 11972–2023 · QT2
| Step | Operation | Temperature | Cooling |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | austenitizing | 1000–1050 °C | air cool |
| 2 | tempering | 500–530 °C | air or furnace cool |
Notes
EN 10213 · Edition 2007+A1:2016
[1] +QT: Treatment temperatures are given for information; required delivery condition is specified separately.
Mechanical Properties
Conditions are not identical. Compare each stated condition and applicability separately.
| Property | EN 10213Edition 2007+A1:2016 | EN 10283Edition 2019+QT1[1] | EN 10283Edition 2019+QT2[2] | EN 10283Edition 2019+QT3[3] | EN 10293Edition 2015[4] | EN 10340Edition 2007[5] | ISO 11972Edition 2023QT1[6] | ISO 11972Edition 2023QT2[7] |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yield Strength (Rp0.2) | ≥ 550 MPa[8] ≥ 515 MPa[9] ≥ 485 MPa[10] ≥ 455 MPa[11] ≥ 440 MPa[12] | ≥ 550 MPa | ≥ 830 MPa | ≥ 500 MPa | ≥ 550 MPa | ≥ 570 MPa | ≥ 550 MPa | ≥ 830 MPa |
| Tensile Strength | 760–960 MPa[8] | ≥ 760 MPa | ≥ 900 MPa | ≥ 700 MPa | 760–980 MPa | 760–960 MPa | ≥ 750 MPa | ≥ 900 MPa |
| Elongation | ≥ 15 %[8] | ≥ 15 % | ≥ 12 % | ≥ 16 % | ≥ 15 % | ≥ 15 % | ≥ 15 % | ≥ 12 % |
| Impact Energy | ≥ 27 J[8] | ≥ 50 J[13] | ≥ 35 J[14] | ≥ 50 J[15] | ≥ 50 J | ≥ 50 J | ≥ 50 J[16] | ≥ 35 J[17] |
Notes
EN 10283 · Edition 2019
[1] All properties in this column; +QT1: wall thickness ≤ 300 mm; Test block; maximum thickness 150 mm; Room temperature; Yield and tensile strength also apply to the casting up to the maximum specified wall thickness.
[2] All properties in this column; +QT2: wall thickness ≤ 300 mm; Test block; maximum thickness 150 mm; Room temperature; Yield and tensile strength also apply to the casting up to the maximum specified wall thickness.
[3] All properties in this column; +QT3: wall thickness ≤ 300 mm; Test block; maximum thickness 150 mm; Room temperature; Yield and tensile strength also apply to the casting up to the maximum specified wall thickness.
[13] Impact Energy; +QT1: KV2 as specified in
[14] Impact Energy; +QT2: KV2 as specified in
[15] Impact Energy; +QT3: KV2 as specified in
EN 10293 · Edition 2015
[4] All properties in this column: wall thickness ≤ 300 mm; Test block of relevant thickness; maximum test-block wall thickness 150 mm; Room temperature; Properties apply to the casting up to the specified maximum wall thickness; above this, foreseeable lowering shall be agreed.
EN 10340 · Edition 2007
[5] All properties in this column: wall thickness ≤ 300 mm; Test block of relevant thickness; maximum thickness 150 mm; Room temperature; Yield and tensile strength also apply to the casting up to the maximum relevant wall thickness.
ISO 11972 · Edition 2023
[6] All properties in this column; QT1: wall thickness ≤ 300 mm; Room temperature; Test blocks used to verify mechanical properties shall not exceed 150 mm thickness. Properties for samples removed from castings shall be agreed between manufacturer and purchaser.
[7] All properties in this column; QT2: wall thickness ≤ 300 mm; Room temperature; Test blocks used to verify mechanical properties shall not exceed 150 mm thickness. Properties for samples removed from castings shall be agreed between manufacturer and purchaser.
[16] Impact Energy; QT1: Verification of impact tests is required only when indicated by the customer.
[17] Impact Energy; QT2: Verification of impact tests is required only when indicated by the customer.
EN 10213 · Edition 2007+A1:2016
[8] Yield Strength (Rp0.2)/Tensile Strength/Elongation/Impact Energy: wall thickness ≤ 300 mm; Properties verified on test blocks of thickness up to 150 mm; applicability to casting wall thickness as stated. Larger governing thickness requires agreement.; Room temperature
[9] Yield Strength (Rp0.2): Test at 100 °C; Verification of elevated-temperature yield values is subject to agreement at enquiry and order.
[10] Yield Strength (Rp0.2): Test at 200 °C; Verification of elevated-temperature yield values is subject to agreement at enquiry and order.
[11] Yield Strength (Rp0.2): Test at 300 °C; Verification of elevated-temperature yield values is subject to agreement at enquiry and order.
[12] Yield Strength (Rp0.2): Test at 350 °C; Verification of elevated-temperature yield values is subject to agreement at enquiry and order.
Welding Conditions
EN 10213–2007+A1:2016
EN 10283–2019
EN 10293–2015
| Requirement | Value |
|---|---|
| Preheat | 100–200 °C[7] |
| Interpass Temperature | ≤ 300 °C |
| Post-weld Heat Treatment | Same as base-material tempering temperature |
EN 10340–2007
| Requirement | Value |
|---|---|
| Preheat | 100–200 °C[8] |
| Interpass Temperature | ≤ 300 °C |
| Post-weld Heat Treatment | Same as the base-material tempering temperature |
Notes
EN 10213 · Edition 2007+A1:2016
[1] Preheat: Production welding by the foundry; ferritic/martensitic guidance is informative.; Preheat temperature depends on casting geometry, thickness and climatic conditions.
[2] Interpass Temperature: Production welding by the foundry; ferritic/martensitic guidance is informative.
[3] Post-weld Heat Treatment: Production welding by the foundry; ferritic/martensitic guidance is informative.; In general, production welds are major when prepared cavity depth exceeds 40% of the wall thickness; minor weld corrosion conditions may require special agreement.
EN 10283 · Edition 2019
[4] Preheat: Preheat depends on casting geometry, thickness and climatic conditions.
[5] Post-weld Heat Treatment: minor welds
[6] Post-weld Heat Treatment: major welds
EN 10293 · Edition 2015
[7] Preheat: Preheat depends on casting geometry, thickness and climatic conditions.
EN 10340 · Edition 2007
[8] Preheat: Preheat depends on casting geometry, thickness and climatic conditions.
Applications
Typical casting applications include valves, continuous-casting rolls and Pelton or Francis turbine components.
Last Updated: October 16, 2026



